10 Things Most People Don’t Know about Me (Part 1)

sunriseI’m making this Part 1 to keep my options open–I’m sure I’ll think of more at random times and have to make another list (or 2 or 14):

  1. Sticks and stones have done their worst, yet I’ve never broken a bone. Words, however, do still hurt me.
  2. My brain never shuts down. Not ever. You know that analogy of the 50 Web screens all open at the same time? Yeah, that’s me.
  3. I love mountains, but feel my most relaxed and inspired when I’m near the ocean or a large body of water. It’s why I love Scotland so much–it’s got both in one gorgeous vista. I don’t think I could stand to be landlocked.
  4. I didn’t start getting migraines until I was 20 or 21. Now I get at least one weekly. But I only get the REALLY bad ones about once every two years.
  5. I wish I’d skipped college. Except for my year abroad in Bristol. That was a year of experiences that continue to shape me and my writing.
  6. I’ve slept in some interesting places. (Hmmm…that might be an interesting list for the future…)
  7. I see everything in shades of grey and never black & white. I almost always consider the other side of a POV, which is both a blessing and a curse.
  8. I played high school varsity field hockey and still miss it. Unfortunately, it’s not something you can just do on your own.
  9. It’s true: I did once walk through Bristol in fishnet stockings and heels with a white streak in my hair. I wasn’t alone. Want to guess where we were going?
  10. I will never tire of color-streaked sunrises and sunsets: One imparts a sense of purpose and potential, while the other imbues a sense of fulfillment and satisfaction. And yearning; always a yearning.

Β©2015 All Rights Reserved

4 thoughts on “10 Things Most People Don’t Know about Me (Part 1)

  1. Hi Rachel, thanks for following my blog, following you back πŸ™‚ I love scotland too, the peace, tranquility and majesty of the mountains and islands. I head up to the Western Isles, usually twice a year, on my yacht – the best place in the world! Looking forward to reading your posts πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I saw that – it’s what piqued my interest and then, well – poetry! πŸ™‚

      My husband and I love Scotland and especially the Highlands and Western Isles. He’s descended from the MacAulays of Lewis, so we visited on our honeymoon, and just took the kids there last July. Jealous of the boating – sailing is one of the most peaceful things to do and you’ve got a beautiful backdrop there!

      thanks for following!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

