An Open Letter to a Cowardly Neighbor

clinton-kaineYou came, as all good cowards do, under the cover of darkness. Trespassing on our property, not far from where we slept, you removed the political sign we’d just put up a little more than 24 hours before. You removed our neighbor’s sign too–perhaps you craved a matched pair.

This morning, when I took the dog out for her morning pee, I noticed the sign was gone. You might be interested to know that I wasn’t one bit surprised. Neither was my neighbor; nor my husband when I texted him. You see? We all expected you, or someone like you, to remove it eventually: The only unknown in the equation was the exact day and time; not whether we had fools living in our neighborhood.

Who are you? Does it even matter? We’ve had enough conversations with various neighbors to know that many of us don’t agree politically, and maybe not even socially. Still, we all grin and chat because we’re neighbors, and one day we may need you to lend us more than just sugar–one day any one of us may rely on the other to help out in an emergency. And that’s no small thing.

What’s amazing to me is that you’re stupid enough to think your act matters. Do you really think we’ll vote differently now? Or that passersby who might have seen the sign and now won’t, will think differently now?

We didn’t put the sign on our lawn to sway anybody else’s opinion. We put it up to draw a line in the sand, finally. To announce that we were unequivocally NOT WITH HIM. And maybe she isn’t perfect, but not one person ever is, or has been.

Sure, there are things I don’t like. I’m not naive. I especially don’t understand why we’d need to dip into the same family twice for the highest job in the land; in a country of hundreds of millions of people, you’d think there’d be somebody else–lots of somebody elses. There are changes that need to be made to the system, starting at the local level. There are adaptations needed to mold our government to better fit these modern times. There is work to be done, for certain.

In the face of all of that, your candidate is still the wrong choice. Your candidate will always be the wrong choice. He is, simply put, godawful. Sometimes I just find the thought of his presidency repugnant, while other times I find it downright terrifying. Any casual reader of my blog can figure out some basic reasons why.

I’m sure the absolute irony, and hypocrisy, of you trying to take away my right to free speech on my own property is lost on you. But think of this: If I had exercised my rights that you (wrongly, of course) are so scared are going to be taken away, you could at this moment, quite possibly, be dead. It isn’t worth it to either one of us.

©2016 Rachel L. MacAulay All Rights Reserved

5 thoughts on “An Open Letter to a Cowardly Neighbor

  1. Wow. Do these people actually exist? I always thought they were made up TV fodder *sigh* for what it’s worth, I’m in complete agreement with everything you’ve said here… about him, her, powerful famiies, the system, big changes need to happen. We can only hope that the worst doesn’t happen come election day!

    Like

  2. Absolutely Fantastic! God I love you and your great gift.

    Thanks for the blog.

    On Tue, Sep 20, 2016 at 9:40 AM, challaandhaggis wrote:

    > rachellmacaulay posted: “You came, as all good cowards do, under the cover > of darkness. Trespassing on our property, not far from where we slept, you > removed the political sign we’d just put up a little more than 24 hours > before. You removed our neighbor’s sign too–perhaps you c” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

