The Silence

scottish-book-trust-october-prompt

I awoke feeling surprisingly well-rested. Heading to the kitchen, I smiled for the first time since the hellish ordeal with Max started. I had won. The kids were mine.

But the items on the table stopped me short. They were in Max’s habitual morning arrangement. Then, I noticed the silence.

****

Update: This story was picked as the winner of the October contest!

I’ve entered this in the Scottish Book Trust’s 50-Word Fiction contest. It’s extremely hard to write anything in 50 words, let alone a story. Give it a try: I’d love to see yours!

 

Leave a Reply

